The Twelve Doctors- The Day of The Doctor- BBC
The Twelve Doctors- The Day of The Doctor- BBC

The 2014 Hugo award nominations were announced back on the 19th April including four for Doctor Who, and it has been announced that the award ceremony will be streamed online via Ustream as well as a text stream for those not able to stream video.

The award ceremony will take place on Sunday 17th August at 8pm BST, hosted by London 3 from the ICC Auditorium at the ExCel in London.

GARD Pro Not Registered

Doctor Who’s The Name of the Doctor, The Day of the Doctor and The Five(ish) Doctors Reboot have all been nominated in the Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form category along with, An Adventure in Space and Time written by Mark Gatiss.

Another Who nomination goes to writer Paul Cornell in the Best Graphic Story Field for The Girl Who Loved Doctor Who, illustrated by Jimmy Broxton.

The Hugo Awards have been presented annually since 1955 and are named after Hugo Gernsback, founder of the influential science fiction magazine, Amazing Stories. The awards are voted for by members of the World Science Fiction Convention, which is also responsible for administering them.

To watch the streaming go to, or for the text streaming go the Hugo Awards web page.

See the full list of nominees below.

Best Novel

Ancillary Justice, Ann Leckie (Orbit US/Orbit UK)

Neptune’s Brood, Charles Stross (Ace/Orbit UK)

Parasite, Mira Grant (Orbit US/Orbit UK)

Warbound, Book III of the Grimnoir Chronicles, Larry Correia (Baen Books)

The Wheel of Time, Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson (Tor Books)

Best Novella

The Butcher of Khardov, Dan Wells (Privateer Press)

“The Chaplain’s Legacy”, Brad Torgersen (Analog, Jul-Aug 2013)

“Equoid”, Charles Stross (, 09-2013)

Six-Gun Snow White, Catherynne M. Valente (Subterranean Press)

“Wakulla Springs”, Andy Duncan and Ellen Klages (, 10-2013)

Best Novelette

“Opera Vita Aeterna”, Vox Day (The Last Witchking, Marcher Lord Hinterlands)

“The Exchange Officers”, Brad Torgersen (Analog, Jan-Feb 2013)

“The Lady Astronaut of Mars”, Mary Robinette Kowal (, 09-2013)

“The Truth of Fact, the Truth of Feeling”, Ted Chiang (Subterranean, Fall 2013)

“The Waiting Stars”, Aliette de Bodard (The Other Half of the Sky, Candlemark & Gleam)

Best Short Story

“If You Were a Dinosaur, My Love”, Rachel Swirsky (Apex Magazine, Mar-2013)

“The Ink Readers of Doi Saket”, Thomas Olde Heuvelt (, 04-2013)

“Selkie Stories Are for Losers”, Sofia Samatar (Strange Horizons, Jan-2013)

“The Water That Falls on You from Nowhere”, John Chu (, 02-2013)

Best Related

Queers Dig Time Lords: A Celebration of Doctor Who by the LGBTQ Fans Who Love It, Edited by Sigrid Ellis & Michael Damian Thomas (Mad Norwegian Press)

Speculative Fiction 2012: The Best Online Reviews, Essays and Commentary, Justin Landon & Jared Shurin (Jurassic London)

“We Have Always Fought: Challenging the Women, Cattle and Slaves Narrative”, Kameron Hurley (A Dribble of Ink)

Wonderbook: The Illustrated Guide to Creating Imaginative Fiction, Jeff VanderMeer, with Jeremy Zerfoss (Abrams Image)

Writing Excuses Season 8, Brandon Sanderson, Dan Wells, Mary Robinette Kowal, Howard Tayler, and Jordan Sanderson

Best Graphic Story

Girl Genius, Volume 13: Agatha Heterodyne & The Sleeping City, written by Phil and Kaja Foglio; art by Phil Foglio; colors by Cheyenne Wright (Airship Entertainment)

“The Girl Who Loved Doctor Who”, written by Paul Cornell, illustrated by Jimmy Broxton (Doctor Who Special 2013, IDW)

The Meathouse Man, adapted from the story by George R.R. Martin and illustrated by Raya Golden (Jet City Comics)

Saga, Volume 2, written by Brian K. Vaughan, illustrated by Fiona Staples (Image Comics )

“Time”, Randall Munroe (XKCD

Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form

Frozen, screenplay by Jennifer Lee, directed by Chris Buck & Jennifer Lee (Walt Disney Studios)

Gravity, written by Alfonso Cuarón & Jonás Cuarón, directed by Alfonso Cuarón (Esperanto Filmoj; Heyday Films; Warner Bros.)

The Hunger Games: Catching Fire, screenplay by Simon Beaufoy & Michael Arndt, directed by Francis Lawrence (Color Force; Lionsgate)

Iron Man 3, screenplay by Drew Pearce & Shane Black, directed by Shane Black (Marvel Studios; DMG Entertainment; Paramount Pictures)

Pacific Rim, screenplay by Travis Beacham & Guillermo del Toro, directed by Guillermo del Toro (Legendary Pictures, Warner Bros., Disney Double Dare You)

Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form

An Adventure in Space and Time, written by Mark Gatiss, directed by Terry McDonough (BBC Television)

Doctor Who: “The Day of the Doctor”, written by Steven Moffat, directed by Nick Hurran (BBC Television)

Doctor Who: “The Name of the Doctor”, written by Steven Moffat, directed by Saul Metzstein (BBC Televison)

The Five(ish) Doctors Reboot, written & directed by Peter Davison (BBC Television)

Game of Thrones: “The Rains of Castamere”, written by David Benioff & D.B. Weiss, directed by David Nutter (HBO Entertainment in association with Bighead, Littlehead; Television 360; Startling Television and Generator Productions)

Orphan Black: “Variations under Domestication” written by Will Pascoe, directed by John Fawcett (Temple Street Productions; Space/BBC America)

Note: Category has six nominees due to a tie for the final position.

Best Editor, Short Form

John Joseph Adams

Neil Clarke

Ellen Datlow

Jonathan Strahan

Sheila Williams

Best Editor, Long Form

Ginjer Buchanan

Sheila Gilbert

Liz Gorinsky

Lee Harris

Toni Weisskopf

Best Professional Artist

Galen Dara

Julie Dillon

Daniel Dos Santos

John Harris

John Picacio

Fiona Staples

Note: Category has six nominees due to a tie for the final position.

Best Semiprozine

Apex Magazine, edited by Lynne M. Thomas, Jason Sizemore, and Michael Damian Thomas

Beneath Ceaseless Skies, edited by Scott H. Andrews

Interzone, edited by Andy Cox

Lightspeed Magazine, edited by John Joseph Adams, Rich Horton, and Stefan Rudnicki

Strange Horizons, edited by Niall Harrison, Brit Mandelo, An Owomoyela, Julia Rios, Sonya Taaffe, Abigail Nussbaum, Rebecca Cross, Anaea Lay, and Shane Gavin

Best Fanzine

The Book Smugglers, edited by Ana Grilo and Thea James

A Dribble of Ink, edited by Aidan Moher

Elitist Book Reviews, edited by Steven Diamond

Journey Planet, edited by James Bacon, Christopher J Garcia, Lynda E. Rucker, Pete Young, Colin Harris, and Helen J.Montgomery

Pornokitsch, edited by Anne C. Perry and Jared Shurin

Best Fancast

The Coode Street Podcast, Jonathan Strahan and Gary K. Wolfe

Galactic Suburbia Podcast, Alisa Krasnostein, Alexandra Pierce, Tansy Rayner Roberts (Presenters) and Andrew Finch (Producer)

SF Signal Podcast, Patrick Hester

The Skiffy and Fanty Show, Shaun Duke, Jen Zink, Julia Rios, Paul Weimer, David Annandale, Mike Underwood, and Stina Leicht

Tea and Jeopardy, Emma Newman

Verity! Deborah Stanish, Erika Ensign, Katrina Griffiths, L.M. Myles, Lynne M. Thomas, and Tansy Rayner Roberts

The Writer and the Critic, Kirstyn McDermott and Ian Mond

Note: Category has seven nominees due to a tie for the final position.

Best Fan Writer

Liz Bourke

Kameron Hurley

Foz Meadows

Abigail Nussbaum

Mark Oshiro

Best Fan Artist

Brad W. Foster

Mandie Manzano

Spring Schoenhuth

Steve Stiles

Sarah Webb

The John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer

Award for the best new professional science fiction or fantasy writer of 2012 or 2013, sponsored by Dell Magazines. (Not a Hugo Award, but administered along with the Hugo Awards.)

Wesley Chu

Max Gladstone*

Ramez Naam*

Sofia Samatar*

Benjanun Sriduangkaew

*Finalists in their 2nd year of eligibility

Leave a Reply