Marvel's Jessica Jones - (c) Netflix
Marvel’s Jessica Jones – (c) Netflix

Jessica Jones, the 13-part Marvel/Netflix series starring Krysten Ritter and David Tennant is among the nominees in the prestigious 50th Nebula Awards, recently announced by The Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America.

The nomination is for the Ray Bradbury Award for Outstanding Dramatic Presentation for episode 13 AKA Smile. An award that recognizes excellence in screenwriting for Scott Reynolds, Melissa Rosenberg and Jamie King.

Jessica Jones joins the likes of Star Wars: The Force Awakens, Inside Out, The Martian, Ex Machina and Mad Max: Fury Road.

GARD Pro Not Registered

The Nebula awards also recognises achievements in other styles of writing, handing out prizes for the best Novel, Novella, Novelette and short story along with the Andre Norton Award for Young Adult Science Fiction and Fantasy awarded to the author of the best young adult or middle-grade science fiction or fantasy book.

The first award in 1992 was presented to James Cameron for Terminator 2: Judgment Day. Other recipients include Richard Clark (director) and Neil Gaiman (writer) in 2011 for Doctor Who: The Doctor’s Wife. 

The award presentation will take place at The 2016 SFWA Nebula Conference at the Palmer House Hilton in Chicago on the 14th May, hosted by comedian John Hodgman (The Daily Show). 

Ray Bradbury Award for Outstanding Dramatic Presentation

  • Ex Machina, Written by Alex Garland
  • Inside Out, Screenplay by Pete Docter, Meg LeFauve, Josh Cooley; Original Story by Pete Docter, Ronnie del Carmen
  • Jessica Jones: AKA Smile, Teleplay by Scott Reynolds & Melissa Rosenberg; Story by Jamie King & Scott Reynolds
  • Mad Max: Fury Road, Written by George Miller, Brendan McCarthy, Nick Lathouris
  • The Martian, Screenplay by Drew Goddard
  • Star Wars: The Force Awakens, Written by Lawrence Kasdan & J.J. Abrams and Michael Arndt

See The Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America website for a full list of nominations.


About The Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America

SFWA is an organization for published authors and industry professionals in the fields of science fiction, fantasy, and related genres. Founded in 1965, SFWA informs, supports, promotes, defends, and advocates for its members

Leave a Reply